Beginner looking for advice

Hello all,

I am totally new to this and looking for some guidance regarding my ambitious project.
Sorry in advance for the fact that i am probably going to ask a question that is lacking allot of basic knowledge. I hope i am posting this in the right section.

My question is this: Is it possible to use Arduino for receiving audio from a small microphone and sending it to a device through bluetooth or wifi.
This wont be used for some kind of clap trigger, it really has to send audio so that a program can work with recognising certain frequencies withint the audio.

Regardless of how difficult or time consuming it will be, i would like to know if it is possible.

Thank you!

Unlikely. Sending audio by wireless media means digitizing the audio, and I don’t think that the ADC in most arduino boards is fast enough to work, and the ADC is only 10-bits. Yes, you might get recognizable sound when you convert the digital back to analog, but since you didn’t describe your project, any alternate solutions would only be guessing.

A RaspberryPi would probably be a better starting point.

...R

Is simply using a bluetooth microphone an option?

SteveMann:
Unlikely. Sending audio by wireless media means digitizing the audio, and I don’t think that the ADC in most arduino boards is fast enough to work, and the ADC is only 10-bits. Yes, you might get recognizable sound when you convert the digital back to analog, but since you didn’t describe your project, any alternate solutions would only be guessing.

I see.

The project requires a small device to send a short (about 10 seconds) recorded audio file to a phone via bleutooth or wifi. The app will recognize the audio and if needed will send a signal back that will trigger a vibration, with for a example a small vibration motor.
The whole things needs to be small and also completely wireless, so another problem i need to figure out would be a battery. Apreciate the reply.

Robin2: