Beginner looking to learn

I should start this with I have never worked with Arduino before. I was directed here by an automation expert. He thought this would be a better way of performing a particular type of automation I was discussing. I have some basic knowledge of networks and linux coding.

Now, to my project. I am trying to help my uncle design an automated system for our grain storage on our farm. We use a roof top grain dryer to dry corn after it is picked. The dryer runs for about an hour at which time someone must operate a winch to drop the grain from the dryer to the storage below, wait about five minutes for the grain to drop, then reverse the winch to close the floor and then fill the dryer. I am looking for a system that senses a voltage drop when the dryer shuts off then operates a 1hp winch to drop the grain, then wait x minutes, then reverse the winch to close the floor.

How difficult would this be for an amateur like myself? what type of Arduino hardware would I need for this?

This should be quite viable with an Arduino. I'd say something as simple as a basic Arduino program and a relay/servo will do the work for you. For starters, check out the examples to get acquainted with Arduino programming.

bphillips: I am looking for a system that senses a voltage drop when the dryer shuts off then operates a 1hp winch to drop the grain, then wait x minutes, then reverse the winch to close the floor.

How difficult would this be for an amateur like myself? what type of Arduino hardware would I need for this?

An Arduino Uno will be able to manage this easily.

As @DivinityArcane has said a relay can be used to control the winch.

Detecting the shut-off of the dryer may not be so simple. Have you some sensor in mind? Can you get access to the cable that carries power from the shut-down switch to the dryer.

Are you competent to interfere with dangerous mains electricity?

...R