Beginner needs help with wireless project!

Hello, as stated i have not been programming arduino for that long, so i have little knowledge about the hardware and the programming.

The project:

Based on arduino I am making a device able to measure the speed of a punch.

As a proof-of-concept, the project for now looks like this: An arduino is placed on the hip of a person, a coiled cable connects the arduino to an accelerometer on the persons wrist. During measurements, the arduino needs to be connected to the computer with a cable. The measurements that are beeing send to the computer by the accelerometer is used in MATLAB to create some graphs and do the specific calculations.

This is where i need your expertice: I would like this project to end up with something like an accelerometer and an arduino mini, placed on the wrist, sending wireless data to the computer, making the measurements, and displaying some results.

Is this possible to pull off? Where should i start? What hardware do i need to get a hold of?

Any advice is appreciated!

someone has a tag line that says I came here to find out how to light an LED and the responses I got were what color, please post a drawing and why just buy a flashlight, here is a link to flashlights.

I am of no help for your project, but as a concept, the wrist and shoulder have a fixed orientation. in boxing, if you hold your wrist at your shoulder, the relationship of directly away from the shoulder. this should not be too hard to measure.

however, an upper cut, holds the wrist at a nearly fixed distance and the movement is rotation around the axis of the shoulder and there is almost no change of distance from the wrist to the shoulder. even the shoulder/wrist, wrist/elbow and elbow/shoulder seem to be fixed and the only movement is the rotation of the arm in the shoulder socket.

sorry, I do not see an easy way to get the measurements you want.

dave-in-nj, thank you for your reply!