Beginner problems with 1602

Hi,
I’m fairly new to Arduino scene - I just received my starter kit, and I decided to dive into it by trying to follow some of the tutorials. Right now I’m trying to connect LCD display (1602a 2.0) to my Arduino Uno, but I’m struggling to display anything at all. Rather than my text, I just see two lines of boxes - one full height, and one smaller. What am I doing wrong?

Here is a photo of my wiring:

And here is pretty simple code:

#include <LiquidCrystal.h>

LiquidCrystal lcd(12, 11, 5, 4, 3, 2);

void setup() {
  lcd.begin(16, 2);
}

void loop() {
  lcd.setCursor(0, 0);
  lcd.print("hello");
}

You have at least two problems.

The easy one is the code. You do not want to keep printing your message over and over again, especially with no delay in your loop. Move the lcd.print(...) statement into setup and leave loop() empty for now.

The hard one is the fact that your LCD display itself may have a problem and it is certainly not being initialized properly, possibly due to one or more bad wires.

Try removing the six LCD control and data wires leaving just pins 1, 2, 3, 15, and 16. You should be able to adjust the contrast until you have a single row of blocks, without the 'smaller height' row that you presently have. If you can't get this then nothing you do with your code will help.

If that is OK then reconnect your data and control lines and run the revised code.

Don

And in regard to the code, the more general concept you need to grasp.

There are two sections. "setup()" is the "do once" part. Things you do to - well, set up things - ready to do your work.

"loop()" is the "worker" part - it gets the job done.