Beginner Question: 18650 Lithium Cell

Hello there,

I’m trying to make a arduino powered robot using arduino nano, motorshield and 1 x 6v DC motor + 1 x Towerpro Servo, BLE Module

And to power the above with something with a rechargeable function, I found the 18650 Lithium Cell Batteries laying around.

Now, I want to know would a 3.7v single cell battery ( yes you heard me right. A single cell lithium battery ) with 2800mah enough to power the arduino, motorshield, servo, BLE and 6v DC motor ?

And I think I will need a 3V to 6V step-up converter module as well ? for the DC motor.

I have no experience with lithium cell, So Please advice…

And I think I will need a 3V to 6V step-up converter module as well ?

Yes you will. The servo will take 6V as well as the DC motor.

2800mah enough to power the arduino,

Yes there will always be enough power what ever the capacity but the question is for how long. Remember if you double the voltage with a step up you will double the amount current that it will draw.

but the question is for how long.

I barely need it to come around 1 Hr Minimum. So I hope it can...

Remember if you double the voltage with a step up you will double the amount current that it will draw.

Understood. But is that bad for the battery ? you mean the duration of the battery charge will discharge soon ?

• I have a different question in case. If I want to use 2 Cells instead of 1 and connect them parallel, Does the voltage get double as well or it remains same at 3.7v ?

you mean the duration of the battery charge will discharge soon ?

Yes.

If I want to use 2 Cells instead of 1 and connect them parallel, Does the voltage get double as well or it remains same at 3.7v ?

Batteries in parallel have the same voltage but twice the capacity. Batteries in series have double the voltage but the same capacity.