Beginner saying hello and looking for some guidance in coding

Hello everybody, new to the forum here so I though I would introduce myself. I am an automotive mechanic from New York and have always been interested in the electrical aspect of working on cars, such as working with CAN BUS and MUX systems when implementing security, remote start and other features to cars. I am a very hands on person and Firmly believe in trying to make it yourself before going to buy it. One of my friends had introduced me to Arduino about a month ago because he thought it would be right up my alley, and after doing some research into it I was hooked, he let me borrow his Makey Makey so i can play around with it and get a sense of what the coding is like and i like the layout of the IDE. I finally an UNO and the "getting started with Arduino" paperback from MAKERSHED over the weekend (not knowing they carried them right at radio shack and micro center) and it just came in on Monday. I have been playing around with it every chance I get and I have went through most of the tutorial sketches contained in the book and trying to add more to the code with every example and really learning a great deal of how it works and what mistakes can be made. By Wednesday I felt comfortable starting my own project ( a fancy Lighting setup for my garage workbench) based on what I had learned so far and using some examples from the book and after a few tries of it failing, (by cutting and pasting examples and filling in my own variables) I ultimately decided to just start the entire code from scratch and get into the habit of "labeling" what is going on in the code so I can get back to it and not be confused (my only experience with coding is some HTML learned in high school and a drop of CSS) and it vastly improved the functionality of my project BUT there are still problems that I'm not sure how to fix, I was up all night trying to research the forums and some instructables to see if I can get some ins