Beginner SMD

Today I soldered some “real” SMD for the first time of my life. Here comes my beginner experiences. Maybe they are helpful for other beginners. I have some experience with TTH but SMD was new to me.

1. A 3mm soldering tip is fine enough. Actually it does not matter to much to have a fine tip. But see (2).
  2. Flux is your friend. The more the better. If everything is soaked with flux the solder is just sucked under the pins. Although I read about this I did not expect that it works that well.
  3. Spare parts are mandatory. Whatever 2 pin SMD part falls to the floor is basically gone.
  4. Good fixation is helpful.
  5. Good tweezers might have been helpful but it was possible without.
  6. I should have glued most parts into place. Most probably this would have saved a lot of time.
  7. Flux is your friend. The more the better.
  8. Try to use the biggest possible SMD parts. 1206 is in reality much smaller than it appears in Eagle.
  9. For the chips you need to double check every solder joint. Visual inspection works poor. A multimeter, preferably with a beeper works much better.
  10. Flux is your friend the more the better.
  11. Traces that lead away from a chip before they bend are much easier to solder. I will take care with the next revision of my board layout.
  12. Solder mask is not really necessary. My board was etched using the toner transfer method and I was woried that lack of solder mask would be an issue. However it is not. Did I mention that a flux pen is your friend?

Udo

Solder paste - that’s the way to do it.

How do you apply it? Or would it wick between the pins of the chips as well?

Udo

I’ve used all sorts of methods, from paint brush to using a pin.
Just wave a hot iron over the pins, and surface tension does the rest.

I see. Do you glue you parts in place? If so, which kind of glue do you use?

Udo

No, no glue, the paste is sticky enough for most components

Got it. Do you then prefer an iron or hot air?

Udo