Beginner trying to figure out strings

Hi. I am new to programming. String manipulation appears to be the bane of my existence.

I have modified the DHCPAddressPrinter example to broadcast the IP address over UDP…

(some code removed for brevity)

void setup() { 
  Ethernet.begin(mac);
}

void loop() {

Udp.begin(localPort);
  Udp.beginPacket(broadcastIP, broadcastPort);
  for (byte thisByte = 0; thisByte < 4; thisByte++) {
   Udp.write(Ethernet.localIP()[thisByte]);
   }

Udp.endPacket();
  delay(1000);
}

This prints the 4 bytes of the IP Address to UDP, and I have verified that it works. However, it’s just 4 bytes, not a readable text string like “192.168.1.234”.

First, a favor. I learn best when I see how to solve my problem. So if it’s a quick solution, could someone show me how to massage the individual IP bytes into decimal strings? I tried using String(Ethernet.localIP(),DEC) as an argument to Udp.write(), but this seems to pass the value, not the pointer to Udp.write().
Second, is there a good place for me to learn String manipulation for Processing (as the projects I wish to work on require some ethernet communication with string commands and arguments)? The Arduino Reference has all the documentation for the available functions, but not a lot of examples that deal with multi-character string manipulation.
Thank you!

Don’t learn String manipulation, just use sprintf.

If you want the value of a byte as an ASCII string then use print not write. Print converts write does not!.

Mark

holmes4:
If you want the value of a byte as an ASCII string then use print not write. Print converts write does not!.

The EthernetUDP Class only has a write() function, not a print() fucntion.

Are you suggesting that I first translate thernet.localIP() to a string ip, then call Udp.write(ip,LEN)? Again, very new at this, I am not sure how I would do that either.

If the address comes in as 4 byte parts, then

byte part1, part2, part3, part4;
char buffer[20];