Beginner trying to use a ATMega328

Hello everyone, I am very new to Arduino but have completed most the projects in my beginners book and have a good understanding of engineering and building things as I make fighting robots in my free time. I would like to try to build my own electronic speed controller to control 2 large 800 watt, 18v motors using spectrum radio gear. I thought I could buy an ATMega328 Microcontroller with Uno Bootloader from Technobots and program it on my arduino then take it out and put it in a homemade circuit for the esc. I will use 8 large relays to reverse the motors and 2 banks of MOSFETs to control the speed of each motor but those will both be attached externally to the circuit board. All I need the circuit to do it read 2 channels from my receiver, convert this to a PWM signal to control the mosfets and use 8 of the other channels to turn on and off some smaller mosfets which will turn on and off the large H bridge of relays. I am confident doing the programing but I don't know what hardware is needed. Other than the Microcontroller and the MOSFETs what components will the circuit board need to run (bear in mind I don't need to program it) and what do I have to connect to each pin. I have tried reading about this on the forum but struggle to understand most of the stuff you guys are talking about! Sorry! Let me know if this is even possible! Thanks for your help and sorry if this post is in the wrong place! Max

Max…:
Other than the Microcontroller and the MOSFETs what components will the circuit board need to run (bear in mind I don’t need to program it) and what do I have to connect to each pin.

You can find lots of designs of ESC's on rcgroups:

Here you can see some of them: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=140454

More inspiration: http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=165816.0