Beginner's question about using the ATmega328

Many of you have probably read my recent posts about using an Uno as ISP to program the ATtiny85. I'm just starting out here and am trying to understand various capabilities from a high level.

If I have written working code on my Arduino Uno R3 can I upload that code to an ATmega328 on my breadboard and have a basic duplication of the program without a rewrite? Hook up the correct pins to components and there's my project (I know I'm over-simplifying, but just going for the concept here).

Thanks, Jake

There are only tiny differences between the '328P and the '328.

The main differences I have found have been around the ADC and BOD voltage reference - nothing to worry about unless you're specifically doing things with the 1.1v reference voltage.

As long as the IDE is set to expect a '328 based board, and not a '328P based board, then all should be fine.

majenko:
As long as the IDE is set to expect a '328 based board, and not a '328P based board, then all should be fine.

Is there some way I can verify which 328 based board my IDE is “set to expect?” I have the Arduino Uno R3.

Thanks.

Hmm

Looking at all the 328 entries in the boards.txt file, they are all set up to use the 328p. Given the tiny differences, you're probably safe enough just using any 328p based board entry - like the uno.

Maybe drop back to the "Arduino Duemilanove w/ ATmega328" which is set up to use the older version of the bootloader at a lower speed.

Thanks. I launched the IDE and looked at all of the boards too. It wasn't clear to me which to use.

I think I need to find a simple tutorial of programming the ATmega328 with an Arduino Uno and work through the process at least once. I did a Google search, but most of what I found was dated and one blog said the Uno couldn't be used as ISP for the ATmega328. I think that is out of date?

Could you (or anyone) recommend a beginner level tutorial on programming an ATmega328 with the Uno?