Beginners XBee trouble.

I am new to the XBees and I have the following equipments:

On the sender side I have:

A PC connected via USB to a UartsBee V3.1 (from SeeedStudio) serial adapter. In the adapter slot there is an Xbee PRO series2 module.

On the receiver side I have an Arduino with a dual Bees Shield (also from SeeeStudio) and in the Bee2 slot I have another XBee PRO series2.

The two XBee PRO series2 has been programmed using X-CTU and the UartsBee V3.1 to have the same PAN ID and the same High and Low address. The one connected to the computer is programmed to “COORDINATOR API” and the XBee connected to the Arduino is programmed to “END DEVICE API”.

What I want to do is to send a character from the PC and set one of the pins on the Arduino to HIGH.

Reading various threads here and the datasheet for the Bees Shield I have first programmed the Aduino Xbee setting the switch to “USB” with the following code:

void setup() 

{ 

DDRD=0x00; 

}

void loop() 

{ 

}

(This will disable the Uart0 port of Atmega IC )

I do not know if this is necessary or not but it is done.

Then I switch the Bees Shield switch over to “Atmega” and load my code to the Arduino:

int ledPin = 13;

void setup() {
  // initialize serial communication:
  Serial.begin(9600);
  // initialize the LED pins:
  pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
  // read the port:
  if (Serial.available() > 0) {
    int inByte = Serial.read();

switch (inByte) {
    case 'H':    
      digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH);
      break;
    case 'L':    
      digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW);
      break;
    default:
      // turn all the LEDs off:

}
  }
}

Now I power up the receiver Arduino, the Bees Shield and the XBee PRO series2 with a 9V battery.