Best 9-axis IMU for thrown and rotating balls?

Hi.

I'm working on a project utilising balls with sensors inside as MIDI controllers. I would like the participants using the balls to be able to throw them, rotate them, and move them through space in order to control musical variables such as volume pitch etc. At the moment I am in the parts finding phase to get the most appropriate sensors for what i'm doing.

Aspects I would like to be able to determine include speed of ball rotation, when a ball is moving in an arc as if thrown (including when at the peak of that throw), when the ball is being moved physically, and the size of those movements.

This is my first time delving into IMUs so I may be overreaching their capability (or perhaps my own). When in motion and as such being acted upon will the accelerometers still be able to identify which direction is down? Considering there may be rotation occurring at the same time can the gyroscope data if properly interpreted account for this? Ideally one of the functions here, and the one I am most concerned about is an increase and decrease in volume related to the arc in a throw.

I had previously been looking at the MPU6050 but it occurred to me that the magnometer would be useful. As such I have looked into other options. The obvious from looking at the MPU6050 is then the MPU9250, but looking around I am also considering https://www.adafruit.com/product/3463

Does anyone have experience with either of these, or another considering the functioning I am looking for?

Thanks, Minrat

I suggest to start with the MPU6050 and play with it a bit in order learn how to understand what the two sensors report.

Note that “movement”, as we normally think of it, is not sensed by the sensor, only acceleration and rates of rotation are reported.

The sensor will report the acceleration due to gravity when it is held still, but little or no acceleration when the ball is in flight.