Best non-WiFi wireless module for big home applications.

Hi!
I'm going to make a project that measures the temperatures in some points of my house. I think about five atmega328 on a breadboard that read a DHT22 sensor and transmits the value to a central Arduino that can display the values on a monitor. The problem is, how can I transmit the value? My house is quite big (two floors, many rooms) and I don't want to spend more that 5€ in each transmitter module. Any suggestion? I see the NRF24L01+PA+LNA Wireless Module in my research. Is it good also indoor? It's hard to program or it has some library to interact with it?
Many thanks!

This Simple nRF24L01+ Tutorial may be a useful starting point. The ackPayload example can be extended to operate with several slaves.

I suggest that you get a couple of the cheap nRF24L01+ modules with the PCB antennas and do some experiments in the actual locations you are planning to use.

I have no experience of the high power nRF24s with the external antenna but I think it would be worth considering the possibility that one of them is only required for the master unit.

I also suggest locating the master unit in the best place for the wireless system. The principal calculations and display of data to the user does not have to happen on the Arduino connected to the wireless master.

...R

If you have wifi in your mansion, just some ESP8266's with DHT22's slapped on them will be a cakewalk.

INTP:
If you have wifi in your mansion, just some ESP8266's with DHT22's slapped on them will be a cakewalk.

Yes, but I have no wifi in that house, so I must use an alternative wireless solution.

Responding to Robin2:

I have no experience of the high power nRF24s with the external antenna but I think it would be worth considering the possibility that one of them is only required for the master unit