Best way to detect a kill with a racket-style Bug Zapper

Hello,

My name is Mike. I am new here and to Arduino. :slight_smile:

I have a racket bug zapper Arduino project idea to detect and count bug zaps and then trigger different lights and sound effects for different zap profiles.

I would like to know the simplest and most reliable way to measure a bug zap without needing a lot of complex components. Or which set of approaches to detection might be the smartest way to start. I would also like to know what kind of sensors or components that I should order since it takes me two months to get them here in Nicaragua (when I have friends flying down).

I am learning Arduino just for this project and am just over half way through the 55 excellent Youtube tutorials by Paul McWhorter. I'm not an expert coder nor an electrical engineer but I do have some mid level technical experience in some scripting languages and have learned some archaic programming languages way back in the 80s. I also worked in video game software development for 26 years so I am pretty good at methodical development, creative problem solving and technical troubleshooting.

I have read a few threads here about bug zappers and on Stack Overflow but all are several years old and were early ideas without later discovery of insight. Zap detection suggestions were varied: sound detection, Hall Effect, shunts, diodes after the bleeder capacitors, etc.

I was initially also thinking sound could be an easy detection method but it might be hard to prevent false negatives and false positives so that might miss multiple simultaneous zaps, rapid machine gun zaps and different magnitude of Zaps which I would like to differentiate.