Best way to find rotation of handlebars on a bike?

I’m looking to determine the angle of handlebars in relation to the frame of the bike. I have a working prototype using 2 gyros [MPU6050] (one on the bars and one on the frame), but would like to try something a bit more compact around where the bars and frame connect (the stem). (2 gyros have their own set of problems).

It should be a retrofittable device, and I can’t access the internals of the bike or screw any holes anywhere. It would need to be very rugged to withstand mountain trails.

Ostensibly I’m building a large rotary encoder, but I can’t quite figure out which direction to go. I’ve attached a photo of a stem for reference.

Does a magnetic rotary encoder make sense? Hall effect sensor with a series of magnets?, Reed Switch or RFID? Put a rotary encoder on the outside and a gear rack for it to trace?

I can’t think of a way to reliably determine position and direction of movement. I’m new to a lot of these mechanics but am having fun learning and exploring solutions. Thanks for the help.

How accurate does it have to be?

To the whole degree ideally. 180 degrees for the whole sweep. (So if you're starting at "0" you can rotate 90deg in either direction)

I'm thinking of a pot of sorts. Main advantage is that you don't have to find a home position when starting up.

no-tec:
It should be a retrofittable device, and I can't access the internals of the bike or screw any holes anywhere. It would need to be very rugged to withstand mountain trails.

To be easily removable/installable on just your bike or, on every bike out there?

dougp:
To be easily removable/installable on just your bike or, on every bike out there?

Every bike would be ideal, but to make the concept work just one bike is totally fine.

no-tec:
Every bike would be ideal, but to make the concept work just one bike is totally fine.