Best way to poll multiple sensors over wireless

I’m new to Arduino, I want to use a Raspberry pi to collect DHT11/DHT22 sensors thru out and around the house with Arduinos communicating thru nrf24l01 modules.

I was thinking of having the RPi poll the individual Arduinos and have them immediately read into an array and send it back to the RPI for logging. This would allow timestamping(by the RPi) and I wouldn’t have to worry about packet collisions from Arduinos sending unsolicited data at the same time. I do not need to send constant readings, more likely than not I will adjust the rate via the RPi to read each sensor every 1-5 minutes.

My question is are there any major pitfalls to this way of implementing the process or am I missing something that would greatly simplify this project? I would like to run the Arduinos on battery so in a second phase I would like to put them in a low power state until the radio receives data and wakes the Arduino if possible.

Is the most efficient way to return data to the RPi by putting all sensor data into an array so it goes in a single packet?

-John

I’m not familiar with the nRF24 modules, but generally speaking you listen to nodes rather than poll. Then you only accept data from whitelisted devices. You can poll, but that means ALL of your sensors are listening.

Pushing data from your sensors could make the overall workflow simpler.

Have each sensor transmit at intervals ranging from 1 to 5 minutes. If the message is short and contains a sensor ID, then the chance of collisions is very small and it is trivial to keep track of the data source.

That is how most home weather stations work.

For low power operation, study this excellent tutorial.https://www.gammon.com.au/power The $2 eBay Pro Mini clones are great for this, as you can very easily remove the voltage regulator and power LED, and have the equivalent of a "bare bones" Arduino.