Bi-polar stepper motor and arduino uno

Hi All
I did this project with a small stepper motor and what I need to know is as follows:
When stepper motor is idle it pulls ± 500ma but when running it only draws ± 150ma.
I’m using L298 stepper module, and an uno
Is there a way to let the 328 IC go sleep if no action is going on the motor IE if they not using it, lunch time etc.
If I can put the arduino to sleep please guide me how ?
Please give me marks on this sketch as I am a newbie and feel quite proud of what I have achieved bad mouthing also helps as I am learning.
thank you
john

//*
//       Label Application Driver -  Using Arduino UNO to Program.
//  Control (L298N Driver) of a 4 wire Bipolar stepper motor with optical-sensor (TCST2103),
//  reading labels on a roll (28mm x 32mm) with a spacing of 3mm  between labels. A led confirms
//  sensor status and (JOG/INCH) delay. A pushbutton is used to (JOG/INCH) the motor with or without
//  a 2 sec (adjustable in program) delay between each push of the button, to feed the labels in the
//  machine till, the sensor can take over, thus starting the procedure of the labels being applied
//  to the product.
//  A 5K Potentiometer is added to adjust the speed of the motor.
//*

#include <Stepper.h>

const int buttonPin = 2;               // pushbutton (pin 2 arduino - pin 4 ATmega 328P)
const int ledPin = 13;                 // led indicator (pin 13 arduino - pin 19 ATmega 328)
const int sensor = 3;                  // sensor (TCST2103)-(pin 3 arduino - pin 5 ATmega 328)
const int stepsPerRevolution = 200;    // 1.8 degree step motor
int stepCount = 0;                     // number of steps the motor has taken
int buttonState = 0;
int val = 0;                           // variable to store the sensor status (value)
//int state = LOW;                     // default, no motion detected
Stepper myStepper(stepsPerRevolution, 9, 10, 11, 12);  //(pin 9-12 arduino - pin 15-18 ATmega 328)