Bicycle Wheel Lights with Arduino (Pic on p.3)

I'd recently spotted this Kickstarter:

and decided to try make something similar myself. I've never worked with an arduino before but went out today and picked up an Uno R3 at a local store. I am a 3rd year comp sci major, so programming is not a hardship but the hardware side is a bit of a mystery. Can controlling 256 lights with one Uno be done?

What I feel like I will need:

• an accelerometer (or two) per wheel, or a hall effect sensor to measure rotational speed and an orientation sensor
  • enough LED multiplexors to control this thing

Yes controlling can be done, but you will need an external power supply, because 256 LEDS will draw much more power than the arduino can supply. e.g. if you are using LEDs that need 20mA, you will need 256*20mA=5,12A.

Cheers,
I was indeed planning on supplying it with a battery pack.

Are tightly grouped LED strips available? I've been looking but the closest I've found is a 32 LED strip that's 1m long. I would need 32 LEDs in 33cm.

yarko:
Cheers,

Are tightly grouped LED strips available? I've been looking but the closest I've found is a 32 LED strip that's 1m long. I would need 32 LEDs in 33cm.

How about this?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/300912911837

fungus:

yarko:
Cheers,

How about this?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/300912911837

Thanks,
That's exactly what I found as well on aliexpress. I'll order a meter when I get a more or less full parts list in order. Could I use FastSPI to control these lights without an LED driver?