Biometric and position tracking device

Dear all, I'm pretty new to Arduino, I did a few experiments in the past but never a big project involving more than leds and buttons :) I'm planning the development of device that will be used for an art project. Basically we need to track some vital data while a person walks in a natural trial, together with their location along the trial, and send it real time to a ground station that will visualize them via processing. I'd like some guidance about that project, basically verifying if the design I came up with and components I've chosen are suitable for the job.

My idea was to stack them all up together (will be 3 shields plus some other devices), collect data and send them to the base station via the XBee.

I have a few questions still:

• I was wondering whether maybe Arduino FIO would be a better candidate for the project, instead of the UNO, since it looks like it has all the same input and outputs of the UNO, but has the Xbee socket on board, so will save me some money (I need to build quite a few of them) and also some space. It also is powered by a LiPo battery, which is lighter and more eco-friendly that the standard 9V battery of the UNO. Or are there any problems with the FIO that will make it less appealing?
  • Then, I need to talk over the air at distances that might be 1mile or even more. I read that Xbee Pro should reach the mile range. Or is there a way to increase the range? maybe by adding better antennas? or by putting a kind of repeater in between? And consider I'm in Europe, so 900Mhz is not an option
  • Apart from these questions, do you see any obvious faults in my design? Or anything I might have to change?

Thank you

Simone

the standard 9V battery of the UNO

That's fightin' talk around these parts, stranger.