Bipolar stepper motor fails at proper voltage

I’m a newbie to Arduino but not so much to circuitry. I got the 12V mini stepper motor from SparkFun (Small Stepper Motor - ROB-10551 - SparkFun Electronics) and hooked it up to my Uno R3 using an L293D Dual H-Bridge motor driver. I hooked it up according to the schematic attached below. If I run off the power supplied by my USB cable, the motor works just fine, but if I attach a 12V DC power supply, the motor starts skipping, running backwards, and buzzing very loudly. The motor is rated at 400 mA and my supply is rated at 750 mA. The only thing I don’t know is whether the power supply is regulated to be exactly 12V or not. I’m not entirely sure why the motor is going nuts when I try running it off the 12V power supply. Any ideas?

Here is the code I am using:

/*
Adafruit Arduino - Lesson 16. Stepper
*/

#include <Stepper.h>

int in1Pin = 12;
int in2Pin = 11;
int in3Pin = 10;
int in4Pin = 9;

Stepper motor(48, in1Pin, in2Pin, in3Pin, in4Pin);

void setup()
{
pinMode(in1Pin, OUTPUT);
pinMode(in2Pin, OUTPUT);
pinMode(in3Pin, OUTPUT);
pinMode(in4Pin, OUTPUT);

// this line is for Leonardo’s, it delays the serial interface
// until the terminal window is opened
// while (!Serial);
Serial.begin(9600);
motor.setSpeed(100);
}

void loop()
{

motor.step(8);
Serial.println(“step”);
delay(500);

}

bipolar_stepper_big.gif

The DC resistance per phase for that stepper is quoted as 4 ohms. If you were to put 12V across a phase, it would pass 3A, which is way in excess of its rated 400mA. You should not apply more than 1.6V per phase to that motor. As it happens, the crappy L293D has around 2.6V voltage drop typically @ 600mA, so when run from a 5V supply you won't have overloaded it very much. I'm surprised your L293D is still working, after using 12V. Your 750mA power supply probably went into shutdown mode and saved it.