Bipolar stepper motor?

Hello, I am relatively new to arduino and have worked my way through various examples from books like "getting started with arduino"
and now I am faced with my first real programming task.
The task is:
I need to program arduino to move a slide via a bipolar stepper motor
the problems that I am having are that the stepper motor is built for a higher current than the arduino processing chip.

My hardware consists of:
Arduino UNO
DFRduino Motor Drive
Resistors etc.
Astrosyn Stepper Motor : E231-2

How do I manage to program and set up the stepper motor without destroying the processing chip in the process?

Thank you if you have any answers for me.

the problems that I am having are that the stepper motor is built for a higher current than the arduino processing chip.

Then, you need to use a motor driver.

My hardware consists of:
Arduino UNO
DFRduino Motor Drive
Resistors etc.
Astrosyn Stepper Motor : E231-2

We know what a UNO is, and resistors, etc. is pretty easy to understand. Links to the other devices, though, would make it a lot easier to help you.

Especially if you had a programming question, rather than a Project Guidance question.

The one component we aren't familiar with is your stepper motor. What are its specifications?
It would not be very difficult to use 4 MOSFETs (you need logic level drive mosfets) 4 diodes (to protect the MOSFETs) and 4 resistors from the Arduino pins to the MOSFETs.

Here is an adaptation of some code I wrote for a stepper driver using the Arduino -

/*
 controlling a stepper from the Arduino -
 Pins 9, 10, 11, 12 are tied to transistors 
 for each of the motor phases.
 */

int pin1 =9;
int pin2 = 10;
int pin3 = 11;
int pin4 = 12;
int ctr;
int dir;

void setup()
{
  pinMode(pin1, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(pin2, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(pin3, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(pin4, OUTPUT);
  ctr=0;
  dir = 0;

}

void loop()
{
   dir = 1;  //Direction = 1 or 0, Forward or Reverse