Bit Angle Modulation and Shift Registers

Hello,

Firstly I am only new to Arduino so please be kind...

I am trying a simple project of hooking up 8x red LEDs to a shift register and having being able to control each of their intensities in an animation type function.

I am hoping this will pave the way to my understanding of how to incorporate different levels of BAM into my future projects (led interactive table, rgb cube etc etc).

I understand the concept of BAM as well as the shift register. My issue is, I cannot for the life of me understand how to shift out the correct bytes to display even a fading effect on ANY of the LEDs.

I am after that light bulb moment where something clicks in my brain lol. Will someone please provide me of such information??????

I will attach my code (don't laugh as I am very tired and it probably doesn't even make much sense!!)

Any help is much appreciated,

Dave

int latchPin = 8;   // Latch pin connected to pin 12 RCLK on the 74HC595
int clockPin = 12;  // Clock pin connected to pin 11 SRCLK on the 74HC595
int dataPin = 11;   // Data pin connected to pin 14 SER on the 74HC595

byte BAM_Counter = 0;   //Counter used in BAM_Handler function
byte brightness;        //4-Bit desired brightness for leds
byte shift_out;         //Byte shifted out to shift registers

byte red[8];
byte which_led = 4;

unsigned long current_time;
unsigned long last_updated_time;

/*------------------------------------------------------------*/

void setup() {

pinMode(latchPin,OUTPUT);
 pinMode(clockPin,OUTPUT);
 pinMode(dataPin,OUTPUT);

}

/*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*/

void loop() {

current_time = millis();
last_updated_time = 0;

if(brightness > B1111) { brightness == B0001; }

if((current_time - last_updated_time) > 49) 
    {
      last_updated_time = current_time;
      brightness++;
    }

BAM_Handler();
 }

void BAM_Handler() {