BLDC Motor Question

Im pretty new to arduino but i am attempting to build a project using a 3 phase brushless dc motor that i have. its a 24v 18.6 peak amp motor and im not sure which way i should control it. i found a brushless dc motor controller on ebay but i also thought about using relays to control it since i only need to control it bi directionally. Here is the motor driver i thought about using.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/DC-12V-36V-500W-Brushless-Motor-Controller-Hall-Motor-Balanced-Car-Driver-Board-/171578486692?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item27f2dfefa4

Im not sure what the HALL monitoring is for but the motor was used for CNC machine. but the motor has the three wires for the three phases as well as 3 HALL monitoring wires for each phase along with a HALL power and ground wire. I dont know what my best option is here or how to wire it up im just looking for some help from you all. Which method should i use to control this motor and what other components do i need to make it work properly, i could also use some tips on how to hook it up to an Arduino UNO. I will also be running a lead screw stepper motor off the arduino with its own motor driver. THANKS!!!

That board does look like it will do the job from what I can see.

BLDC’s have no commutator, the rotor is just magnets, so the 3 phase coils have
to be switched at the right points as the rotor spins to keep pushing it round
the same way, and the 3 hall sensors provide that information.

Note that there are 6 ways to connect the 3 phases and another 6 for the sensors
and you will have to experiment to find what works for your motor - there may be
jumpers for the hall polarity and 60/120 degree options.

The only components you need are a power supply and an Arduino to drive the
controller (think it takes direction and PWM?)

[ Forget relays, you need to switch far faster than a relay can handle ]

Hi, Can you give us the motor make and model, or a least a photograph of it please?

Tom.... :)