BLE Log File Dump - MKRIoT to Android: can it be done?!

Please be gentle, I'm still fairly new at this and I'm sure my code is a mess.

As part of a crop pest research project I'm attempting to build an inexpensive environmental condition datalogger that can collect data from a site and dump the log file to my phone once a week (sites are 2.5 hrs from WiFi, but will visit them weekly). Ideally I'd like to avoid deconstructing the logger each week to remove the SD card, and was hoping to use its BLE function to gather each week's log file instead. However, I'm having a lot of trouble figuring out how exactly to send and receive said file, and am starting to wonder whether it's a lost cause.

From what I've gathered BLE is limited in comparison to classic Bluetooth and can only send information in relatively small packets, meaning that I may need to somehow compress my data into a smaller format before sending it, but I can't figure out how to adapt the protocols that I've seen involving strings to something like the .csv file that my setup would produce.

I've spent some time looking around at source documents, references, and similar projects, but much of the information I've found either died years ago, includes solutions that refer to broken links (@Nick_Pyner , do you happen to still have a link to your "Bluetooth graphic file retrieval" code?), describes limited functions that I can't figure out how to adapt to larger files, uses different systems that I don't know how to decipher, or even describes almost exactly what I hope to accomplish but in reverse! (and I can't figure out how you'd go about sending it the other way!)

I'm stuck!

My Setup:

• Arduino Explore IoT kit, including MKR WiFi 1010 board and MKR IoT Carrier
  • Android phone using lightBlue as a BLE monitor

My Code: