BLE Midi Controller, slow switch case loop

Hello guys,

So I am super new to this whole programming thing and you could definitely say that I am self taught. I am trying to make a BLE MIDI controller using the Adafruit Feather 32u4. I want to setup 15 buttons to send midi data and I got everything working with one button. I then just basically copy pasted what I had for one button for 15 and everything still works, however there is a considerable amount of latency.

My guess is that my void loop is too long with all the switch cases for each button (if I delete just those multiple sections and leave only one button then there is no discernible latency).

Consolidating the switch case down is above my pay grade so I am at a loss…

midi_Controller_working_but_slight_delay_4.ino (14 KB)

First, use code tags when posting code. See #7 on How to use this forum

Second, instead of button1 through button15, debouncer1 through debouncer15… use Arrays.

const int button[15] = {2, 3, 5, 6, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23};

then you can simplify the code that does the same thing over and over again:

for(int i = 0; i < 15; i++)
  pinMode(button[i],INPUT_PULLUP); // setup button as input

However, none of that is your problem. I think the reason it speeds up when you delete all those switch statements is because you are always doing something in the switch statement regardless of if the button has not been recently (or ever) pressed or unpressed. Instead of doing something every time, only do something when the state changes. See the “change” example included with the library.

I’m fairly sure that the main problem is sending 13 MIDI messages every time through loop().

Whenever you see more than two or three variables that are treated nearly identically and are named the same except for a sequence number you should use an array instead.