Blink LED while Arduino is sleeping in power down with external timer ?

Hi All,

Electronics newbie here !

I am building a handheld remote that will have 4 LEDs turn on when remote stations acknowledge a data transmission. To save battery power I put the handheld unit to sleep as well as power down the Xbee radio.

To further reduce my power needs, I am thinking that if I had the LEDs slowly blink while the unit is sleeping I would save power while the LEDs are in the off state.

My questions :

1- Can this be done with some external components like a 555 timer ? The LEDs share the same ground but are connected to 4 different arduino pins.

2- Is this worth doing or will the extra components consume the power that I would like to save from having LEDs off. They are surface mount green LED, the resistors are 330 Ohm surface mount.

I have attached a basic schematic of the LEDs.

Yes it can be done and if designed correctly the 555 would draw extremely little current over the LED itself. And yes you will be drawing battery power while blinking in sleep state. You will need to design a gate perhaps off a different pin that enables the 555 when the Arduino goes to sleep.

Need more detail to give you better answer.

wolframore:
Yes it can be done and if designed correctly the 555 would draw extremely little current over the LED itself.

No. The 555 is an ancient IC. Very power hungry compared to newer devices.

@OP: if you use sleep properly and have all the power hungry parts of the Arduino removed it is hardly worth adding some extra timer. Since the timing is not critical you may use the WDT to wake up Arduino periodically and blink the LED.

there are CMOS 555 (LMC555) that are actually very efficient. Again depends on the circuit design. The Arduino would consume much more than that while awake.

Thanks for the responses.

@ Wolframore, let me know what other info you would like.