blink, then stay on?

Fair warning, I'm still new at this. Anyways, I'm trying to work a design that would handle sequential taillights and doing various other functions. I'm currently using a momentary switch to simulate receiving a signal from the brake pedal. I can get the lights to sequence upon press of the switch. I want the LEDs to sequence once and then stay on until the switch is released. Unfortunately, what I am getting is the LEDs continue to loop (which I understand, because it is in the loop() portion). I tried experimenting with adding another 'void BRAKES()' function, but then the LEDs would not go back off whenever the switch was released. Any help would be appreciated!

CODE:

// Sequential Taillights Practice Sketch

// Set pin numbers const int rightblinker = 12; // names pin 12 "rightblinker" const int brakes = 11; // names pin 11 "brakes" const int leftblinker = 10; // names pin 10 "leftblinker" const int R3 = 7; // names pin 7 "R3", for 3rd right light const int R2 = 6; // names pin 6 "R2", for 2nd right light const int R1 = 5; // names pin 5 "R1", for 1st right light const int L1 = 4; // names pin 4 "L1", for 1st left light const int L2 = 3; // names pin 3 "L2", for 2nd left light const int L3 = 2; // names pin 2 "L3", for 3rd left light

int buttonState = 0; // initial button state of 0

void setup() { pinMode(rightblinker, INPUT); // designates "rightblinker" an input pinMode(brakes, INPUT); // designates "brakes" an input pinMode(leftblinker, INPUT); // designates "leftblinker" an input pinMode(R3, OUTPUT); // designates R3 as an output pinMode(R2, OUTPUT); // designates R2 as an output pinMode(R1, OUTPUT); // designates R1 as an output pinMode(L1, OUTPUT); // designates L1 as an output pinMode(L2, OUTPUT); // designates L2 as an output pinMode(L3, OUTPUT); // designates L3 as an output }

void loop() { buttonState = digitalRead(brakes); // first reads brakes