Blinking cursor lcd display

Hi everyone. i’m not really experienced in programming so probably i’m doing something wrong here. Basically i’m doing a signal generator with the AD8590 chip and i wanted to set with a keyboard the frequency directly for every number. So the lcd is starting with 10 000 000 Hz shown on the display and i’m trying to create a blinking cursor under the last 0 so with the keyboard if you press up key the result will be 10 000 001 Hz and then if i press left key the cursor goes left by one digit and if i press for example down key it will show something like 10 000 091 Hz. Basically i want to change every digit directly with 4 buttns up, down, left right. My biggest problem is with the cursor. i cannot make it blink and is seems it’s moving fast in every position in the lcd unless i use the delay in loop cycle.

const long interval = 700;
unsigned long previousMillis = 0;
int wait = 0;
#include <LiquidCrystal.h>
LiquidCrystal lcd(12, 11, 5, 4, 3, 2);

void setup() {
  // set up the LCD's number of columns and rows:
  lcd.begin(16, 2);
}

void loop() {
  unsigned long currentMillis = millis();
  lcd.setCursor(0,0);
  lcd.print("1000000");
  lcd.setCursor(7,0);
  if (currentMillis - previousMillis >= interval) 
  {
    previousMillis = currentMillis;

if(wait == 0)
    {
      lcd.cursor();
      wait = 1;
    }
    else 
    {
      lcd.noCursor();
      wait = 0;
    }
  }
}

i can’t use the delay cause it freeze the arduino so it takes so long to read input keys to change digits. How can i achieve this? thank you so mutch

All this is happening on every loop iteration and probably interferes with your attempts to make the cursor blink:

lcd.setCursor(0,0);
 lcd.print("1000000");
 lcd.setCursor(7,0);

I suggest for testing, you move those 3 lines into setup() just to see how it reacts.