Blinking LEDS with motion sensor

Hi All, I am very new to Arduino and electronics. I need to create a very basic and crude device which has two alternating blinking LEDS. But I want the blinking of the LEDs to speed up when someone goes near them, what do I need to do this?

please be as obvious as possible as I have no electronics background.

Thankyou

You could use an ultrasonic sensor like an SRF04 or a Ping. Then simply "map" the range value to a blink rate.

If you go over to the Playground, you'll see examples for ultrasonic or IR proximity sensors.

You need a proximity detector that measures distance. There are lots of them but this is popular:- http://www.sparkfun.com/products/242 It helps if you fill in your location so we can advise a source local to you. See that site for examples about how to use it. For the blinking see the blink without delay in the examples menu of your arduino IDE.

hiya, sorry I am based in London, United Kingdom

Thanks for the reply, what else will I need to get to do this project

You need to decide over what range you want to detect the person / object, and possibly over what angle. This will help decide the best type of sensor.

hi,

the proximity will be about 12 inches

Do you have any other constraints, like it has to work outdoors or in high ambient light or noise levels?

needs to work in normal room lighting, and the item will be displayed in a gallery so will be a quiet environment

sorry about not being descriptive enough, just dont know enough about it all :~ :~

sorry about not being descriptive enough, just dont know enough about it all

That's OK - just don't want you to buy a sensor that is unsuitable.

Do you need to detect when the person is approaching from the side, or only when in front of the exhibit?

thankyou for your patience :slight_smile:

I would like it to sense them approach from within 12 inches all around the LEDs, so a 12" diameter with the LEDs as the centre point