BlueTooth Blues

Hi all, BlueTooth noob here. I've developed a sketch to control a hacked model tank on a 168P 2009 board using USB - the sketch and motor driver hardware are deuggged and working using the 2009. Now I need to go wireless. I bought an official 328P Arduino BT and have paired it successfully with my laptop (running Windows 7 64 bit). The Arduino BT is powered by three fresh AA alkaline batteries, and the green LED is on. The board is sitting inches away from a BlueTooth Class I, version 2.0 device, which I know works, because I use it all the time to transmit audio to my wireless speakers.

When I look at the details of the BlueTooth connection, Windows says COM43, so I set COM43 as the port in the IDE, changed the board type to Arduino BT with 328P. I hit "upload" and the reset button on the Arduino BT, as suggested in the notes. I get confirmation that the sketch compiles (no surprise there), but then I get a message to say "expected=0x14, resp=0x51", and the upload fails. I've tried pressing the reset at different times, but still no luck.

I've googled this, but don't really understand the responses - if the "resp" is 0x51, that implies that the programmer is talking to the board, doesn't it?

I hadn't expected this much hassle from the board, but I'm stuck, and don't really know what is going on with the tools under the hood - the aim of the project is to produce an autonomous sentinel, not learn Arduino internals.

Is there any simple test I could make (using putty or something similar) to get a response out of the board's bootloader, even if it isn't programmed? Have I got a dead board?

Does anyone know any reliable Arduino BT troubleshooting techniques?