Bluetooth Mate Gold

Hello, Android forum. I am a beginner to arduino how is having some problems with my Lilypad. I am wanting to use an accelerometer with a bluetooth mate gold modem. I have paired my Laptop with the device but when I try to upload the sketch for the accelerometer I get an error message saying the serial port is being used by another programme, it suggests I should close all programmes which amy be using it. I have closed all programmes but I still keep getting the same error message. Please help me out.

Thanks

Gregor

Gregor_Doverty: Hello, Android forum.

Hello what?

I get an error message saying the serial port is being used by another programme

I assume from the faux pas above that you have in fact connected a mobile phone to the computer. That being the case, the mobile phone software is very likely ceasing control of the bluetooth serial port. You will have to either remove the software or configure it to leave the bluetooth port alone.

Android Forum???!!! Rather embarrassing! I apologise, I have android on the brain as I am using an Android app for the project.

Thanks for the reply. I have definitely paired with the bluetooth modem. It is called Firefly 6019.

I have uploaded a sketch for the accelerometer to the Lilypad via FTDI cable and it is giving me readings. Here is this sketch,

void setup() {

Serial.begin(9600);  //this sets our baud rate to 9600

}

void loop() {

int sensorValueX = analogRead(A0);  //reads data from the X pin on the accelerometer, connected to Analog Pin 0 on the Lilypad Arduino

int sensorValueY = analogRead(A1);  //reads data from the Y pin on the accelerometer, connected to Analog Pin 1 on the Lilypad Arduino

int sensorValueZ = analogRead(A2);  //reads data from the Z pin on the accelerometer, connected to Analog Pin 2 on the Lilypad Arduino

// Serial.print(“sensorX: “);

Serial.println (sensorValueX, DEC);  //this prints the X values in the Serial Monitor