Bluetooth Serial Communication

I'm trying to use an HC-06 Bluetooth module to replace the wired serial connection in one of my projects. So far I have been able to pair the module with my computer, but when I try to send AT commands the serial monitor just freezes. I'm pretty new to this stuff so if anyone can provide any help I would really appreciate it.

link to module - http://www.amazon.com/JBtek-Bluetooth-Converter-Serial-Communication/dp/B00L08GA4Q

Post your code. This is probably just a minor comedy of errors. I think you might be trying to send AT commands over bluetooth. The HC-06 is in AT mode initially but goes into comms mode as soon as you connect, which is very reasonable.

Have you proven everything by just using HC-06 out of the box?

You might find the following background notes useful

http://homepages.ihug.com.au/~npyner/Arduino/GUIDE_2BT.pdf http://homepages.ihug.com.au/~npyner/Arduino/BT_2_WAY.ino

There is method for sending AT commands at the end but note it is for Mega

Thank you so much for your reply. I will post the arduino code below, I did not write it, I found it online. I have not gotten the device to work yet. I hadn’t actually planed on changing any of the settings, I was just going to send “AT” and see if I got “OK” back. Also, I was reading through the links and it seems there’s another problem. The computer says that it’s paired, but the led on the HC-06 continues to flash. As I said I’m very new to this, so I’m sorry if any of this sounds stupid.

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
SoftwareSerial mySerial(4, 2); // RX, TX

String command = ""; // Stores response of the HC-06 Bluetooth device

void setup() {
  // Open serial communications:
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial.println("Type AT commands!");

// The HC-06 defaults to 9600 according to the datasheet.
  mySerial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
  // Read device output if available.
  if (mySerial.available()) {