Board game idea, questions about identifying game pieces

Hi there,

I have been reading posts and searching these forums and the internet for about an hour a day over the last week. I am hoping that I am not going to annoy anyone by posting a question here. Please let me know if I made this post in the wrong way or in the wrong forums and I will delete it.

I am a web programmer and I have built a career in this area of expertise for the last 15 years now. I would like to learn more about electronics in order to create prototypes for various project ideas I have. I have also experimented with Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE112 and BLE113) boards using my TI debugger and I have done some soldering or hooked up little breadboard prototypes following the internet instructions. So I have had a very minimal amount of electronics/pcb experience.

More recently, I have an idea for a game that I would like to pursue. I want to develop a game board and game pieces. I want the game board to sense when a game piece is connected to it. The game board will be communicating with a computer game.

I want each game piece to retain a unique identifier and not to use RFID, to save cost. Each game piece will have a multicolor LED in it.

When my gamer makes a color change in the computer game, the arduino powered game board will light the led on that game piece with a specific color from then on.

Once some activity happens in the game, the LED will turn off. At that time, the gamer must physically pick up the game piece and place it on another area of the board. This triggers a charging sound and turns the light back on. Then the player may move the piece back onto the board which triggers an activity in the computer game.

After researching,

I found a post here:

by (Chagrin) that may apply