Boolean Variables

Hello, I have a few questions about variables. Please be understanding as I am not an experienced programmer.

I would like to read a digital input, then store it as a Boolean variable.
could I accomplish this by boolean variable = digitalRead(pin) or do I have to do something along the lines of

if(digitalRead(pin)==HIGH){
     boolean variable = true;
}

I thought that the first would work because HIGH and true would both equal 1, but I just wanted to make sure. Thanks!

could I accomplish this by

Yes, because the values returned by digitalRead(), HIGH and LOW, correspond, value-wise, to true and false.

If you are concerned with digitalRead() returning other values in the future, you could use:

boolean flag = (figitalRead(somePin) == HIGH);

to set flag to true when digitalRead() returns HIGH.

figitalRead -- returns TRUE if someone fidgets with the pin?

Delta_G:
figitalRead -- returns TRUE if someone fidgets with the pin?

Yep. For detecting those tentative presses.

PaulS:

boolean flag = (figitalRead(somePin) == HIGH);

No need for parentheses, assignment binds less tightly than other operators:

boolean flag = digitalRead(somePin) == HIGH ;

but just stick to

boolean flag = digitalRead(somePin) ;

but choose a meaningful variable name, not "flag"!!

No need for parentheses, assignment binds less tightly than other operators:

You might be one of the 8 people in the world that can remember that. I use parentheses so I KNOW the order of the operators I use less often.

but choose a meaningful variable name, not "flag"!!

flag just might BE meaningful. In general, I agree, but is was simply an example.

So was the "figitalread" a typeo, and you were being sarcastic? Because I looked it up on the playground and nothing showed up. Also, for future reference, could I use 1/0 in place of HIGH/LOW or true/false?