Bootload bare chips using Bit Bang - any pointers?

Hello All

I am fairly new to the arduino world, having been introduced to it through building a Reprap 3D printer.

Now that I have that working I wish to move into robotics and micro-controller programming.

I have all the components to breadboard the arduino and have ATtiny2313 and ATMEGA328 chips.

Now I don't have any AVR programmers but do have a USB-TTL cable as part of my printer setup. I see I can use this to burn the boot loader onto my AVR chips using bit-bang mode.

Now I don't know where I will find or create the boot loader, or what is the most up to date information on using bit-bang mode. I have arduino 21 installed on my computer (Windows Vista 32bit) and have used that successfully to program my printer motherboard and extruder controller.

Of course, my preferred method would be 'download this and run it' but it does not seem as simple as that.

If anyone can point me to the most up to date documents for burning a bootloader using a USB-TTL cable and bit-bang I would appreciate it. The more spoon-fed approach would be appreciated :slight_smile:

I guess I could use my Reprap motherboard (sanguino) as an ISP but I am hesitant to do that as I am afraid I may damage it and that will cost to replace.

Cheers

bump

anyone?

I don't know anything about the bit banging method but you can buy a programmer for $20 and get a bootloader for the 328 from the IDE installation.

I doubt you'll find a loader for the 2313 and anyway it really hasn't got enough flash for one.

Rob

AgeingHippy:
Hello All

Hello One.

If anyone can point me to the most up to date documents for burning a bootloader using a USB-TTL cable and bit-bang I would appreciate it. The more spoon-fed approach would be appreciated :slight_smile:

http://www.geocities.jp/arduino_diecimila/bootloader/index_en.html