Bootloader that fits in 256 words

Hi everybody,

I'm new to the arduino, so I'm not sure if I simply didn't search good enough in this forum or if my "invention" is really new...

I managed to shrink the bootloader to fit in 512 bytes by porting it to plain assembler. This is only for the ATMega8 now - but that's where the additional 512 bytes available for the user program are of special value!

I also did not find a way to attach anything to this message, so I will wait for now if anyone is interested - and if so, maybe someone shows me how to post a file here, or I will provide a link to my webspace.

JimBeam

I also did not find a way to attach anything to this message ...

Try again, you can't do that on your [u]first[/u] post but you should be able to now.

Don

Thanks Don, so OK, here we go again.

Hmm, I still do not see any possibility to post a file… :frowning:

I will try a third post before giving up.

Still no attachments...

Giving up now, here is an external link: http://www.a-z-e.de/download/arduino/ArduinoBOOT_0_01.zip

Some notes on the bootloader

• Bootloader is entered, if the MOSI pin is grounded (jumper on the ICSP connector pins 4&6)
  • Bootloader is also entered if there is no code in the user area (0x0000 = 0xFF)
  • Bootload does NOT exit to execute the user program automatically after a timeout, you need to switch off/on!
  • The LED on pin PB5 (digital 13) lights up when the bootloader is entered and stays on
  • The standard baudrate 115200 works
  • The preassembled HEX in the archive is for an ATMega8 running at 16MHz with 115200 baud

JimBeam

No, that info seems wrong on the attachments . I think it may have been closed due to server overloading problems. If you link to a picture I think it can be made to display here and you can add code etc but no files it seems.