Brain fried on sawmill project.(update: working code)

Please bear with me as I’m new to this kind of code. I’ve only been messing around with this arduino and code for about a month now. Frustrating at times but I enjoy the challenge. At the moment though I feel brain fried as I cant find an answer to a few code issues.

The project is automating functions on my sawmill I built, so that a push of a button would do 3 tasks.
I have a laser/photoresistor that is broke when it passes through the log. So the idea is to push the start button which kicks on the drive motor. It will start with the laser contacting, then break the laser as it cuts through the log, and then I would like the drive motor to turn off about 1 second after the laser contacts again. I then wish to drive a motor to raise the sawmill head for 3 seconds, and then kick on the drive motor to return the saw to the beginning until it hits a limit switch ending the circuit until the button is pushed again.

The problem I’m having so far is making all the tasks wait until the momentary start button is pressed. It seems to want to loop through the code, and fire the remaining sequences repeatedly. Also the laser part is tricky, as I need the drive motor to run until the laser is tripped once for however long, and then to stop only after it has reconnected.

This may sound confusing but here’s a video of the mill, so you can see what I’m referring to: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KI5bEX-ddzY

I may not have explained what I want good enough, so question away.
Any tips on the code would be appreciated!
UPDATE: New code in later post.

// set pin numbers:
const int buttonPin = 2;     // the number of the pushbutton pin
const int ledPin =  13;      // Drive motor led
const int ledPin2 =  12;      // Head raise led
const int ledPin3 =  11;      // Drive reverse led
const int analogPin = A5;    //  Photorisistor pin. 
const int ledPin4 = 10;       // Led simply showing laser/photoresistor contact.