Brand new member

Evening guys, gals, hobbyists...

Recently I have gotten involved with model railroading with my children who all seemed very enthusiastic about the endeavor and shared family time working on the projects.

We have come up with a track plan that we all agree on but now it's my turn to get many answers.

Just a few points...
One train has to stop at the rr station when it arrives (passenger train) and one does not (freight).
There is a crossover.
They also want trackside signals (red & green).
There are no switches anywhere on the layout.
Possible sounds added later.
Building lights and possible motions.
Maybe a trolly line later. (Doubt it but you never know if the wife will say add it.)

I am a brand new modeler and I have no idea where to begin. Some of the track has already been glued down and in a permanent state. So my questions are probably going to sound stupid or newbish.

Do I have to add "blocks" to the layout for this system to work? I am assuming I will have to add something like blocking in the area of the crossover. There will never be more than 2 trains running at once. How do I add trackside signals for visual affects? Can the building lights be programmed as well? Does this require DCC loco's or can DC be used.

If there is info I missed that you need more of please let me know. I can even post pics of the CAD layout if you need them.

Thank you much in advance for helping out the clueless new guy.

Ed

Welcome to the forum.
I know we have active modellers here, am sure they will pipe in.

Many use my Mega screwshield with a Mega to have solid IO connections for wiring for lights & stuff, something to keep in mind.
http://www.crossroadsfencing.com/BobuinoRev17/