Bread Board Power Input?

Hi,

I am new to the Arduino Community; this is my first post. I hope to learn the basics of circuits through a starter guide that came with with an arduino a family member gave me as a gift.

The starter guide came with a few programmed circuits, and an instruction book I am using to learn the basic vocabulary, and assemble the physical components. Attached is the first circuit’s sketch. I was able to assemble and build the circuit, but I have a couple questions regarding the design and necessity of components in the circuit.

In the assembly documentation, the starter guide recommends three wires: 1)5V analog output to + terminal on bread board, 2) Analog ground to negative terminal on bread board, 3) wire from pin 13 to the same row as the + terminal of the led.

I setup the circuit, uploaded the sketch, and successfully got the LED to blink. However, while I was disassembling the circuit, I noticed that removing the 5V to positive terminal wire had no effect on the blinking of the LED. Is the 5V wire necessary? Why is the 5V wire included in the documentation if it’s not necessary?

Thank you,

Circuit_01.ino (4.82 KB)

Never change the wiring while power is applied to it. That is a sure fire way of destroying components.

Now you know what kit you have but we don't. We don't know how you wired it up. You do not mention the resistor that you need with the LED either so your description leaves a lot to be desired, or the tutorial is crap because it doesn't use a resistor.

Why is the 5V wire included in the tutorial? A crap tutorial.

I think it’s user error.
Not sure what OP means with “the 5V to positive terminal wire”.
Maybe we have to see a picture.

Here is the sketch with most of the comments removed.

/*
Hardware connections:

Most Arduinos already have an LED and resistor connected to
  pin 13, so you may not need any additional circuitry.

But if you'd like to connect a second LED to pin 13, or use