Breadboards....I don't understand.

I am very new to Arduino. I just recently ordered a breadboard, a bunch of LEDs, some buttons, and resistors to play with. I am able to control a pair of LEDs directly plugged into the Arduino chip, but want to use a breadboard, but don't quite understand how to connect them or how they work. If someone can help me to understand that I would greatly appreciate it.

I found a tutorial or two online, but they don't use an Arduino chip with the breadboard, but rather a microprocessor connected to the breadboard. Which only added to my confusion.

Right on this site is a link to the Main Page where there is a link to Learning where there are links to examples, many of which show Arduino and breadboard connections.

But. You. Have. To. Look.

the arduino is a microcontroller.

is the breadboard you have solderless breadboard (white with lots of divets to push components into) or standard breadboard (usually a yellowish color with just a bunch of through holes)?

pictures would be great to make sure everyone understand what you have to work with.

Do you understand the basics of how a breadboard works (e.g. the power strips on the left and right, the left and right rows) ? If not here's a couple of links that may help:

http://eecs.vanderbilt.edu/courses/ee213/Breadboard.htm http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oiqNaSPTI7w (video)

To use a breadboard with your Arduino board connect the ground pin to the black (or blue) vertical power strips (daisy chain them so all are connected), then do the same with the +5v or +3.3v pin to the red vertical power strips. After that connect all your components to the breadboard, then run more wires from the components to the Arduino pins. Here's an example:

http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/Fade

Good luck!

Hi-

welcome (oops I see others replied before i finally got back here) LOL

anyways..

outside of the links/comments.. here are just come general diagrams for you to look at..