Brightness Controller

Hi!

I am new to the Arduino forum community. I am trying to build a brightness controller using the following code

/* Light Sensor v4
   P Controller
   Expected value = 11:50 AM, Ceiling lights on, LED OFF
   Major Disturbance: Complete darkness, LED OFF = 512
                      Complete darkness, LED ON  = -200
   Proportional Band +/- 60% of SP
*/

// To create the running average values
const int numRead = 50;
int readings[numRead];
int ReadIndex = 0;
int total = 0;
int LS_Average = 0;

//Establish the pins and SetPoint
int Ambient = 50; //This is the SetPoint
int Lowerbound = Ambient - (0.4 * Ambient);
int Upperbound = Ambient + (0.4 * Ambient);
int R = A0;
int L = A1;
int LED = 3;

//Create the proportional control
double brightness = 50;
int brightness_up = 0;
int brightness_down = 0;

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(LED, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(R, INPUT);
  pinMode(L, INPUT);
  for (int CurrentRead = 0; CurrentRead < numRead; CurrentRead++) {
    readings[CurrentRead] = 0;
  }
}

void loop() {
  int R_Output = analogRead(R);
  int L_Output = analogRead(L);
  int LS_Output = R_Output - L_Output;

total = total - readings[ReadIndex];
  readings[ReadIndex] = LS_Output;
  total = total + readings[ReadIndex];
  ReadIndex = ReadIndex + 1;
  if (ReadIndex >= numRead) {
    ReadIndex = 0;
  }
  LS_Average = total / numRead;
  Serial.print(Ambient);
  Serial.print(" ");
  Serial.print(Lowerbound);
  Serial.print(" ");
  Serial.print(Upperbound);
  Serial.print(" ");
  Serial.print(LS_Average);
  Serial.println(" ");

if (LS_Average > Upperbound) {
    brightness = 255;
    analogWrite(LED, brightness);
  }

if (LS_Average < Lowerbound) {
    brightness = 0;
    analogWrite(LED, brightness);
  }
    if ((Ambient < LS_Average) && (LS_Average < Upperbound)) {
      // Initial condition LED is NOT FULL ON