Brushless DC Motor RPM Read

Hello Guys

Your help is greatly appreciated.

I am trying to read the rpm of a brushless DC motor, with a dedicated driver datasheet of which is linked below.

http://www.autom.cn/Download/20148517353644032.pdf

I have a Nextion display attached and I want to display motor RPM on screen but I am new to Arduino and failed to do so, using simple analogRead code. Could you please guide me how to?

On datasheet it says as following, but I can’t figure out what to do.

Motor Speed Signal Output:
Connecting SPEED and COM to get pulse output F=N*P/60
F—Pulse output frequency
P—Pole number of BLDC motor ( has 4 poles)

I’ve tried the code attached to no avail. Please take it as simple as possible as I’ve been on Arduino for two weeks only :slight_smile:

sketch_feb13a.ino (821 Bytes)

analogRead() won't read pulses. It will either get an on or off (most likely off) depending on if it randomly measures at the same time there is a pulse.

If your program has nothing better to do, use pulseIn() to read the duration of the pulses. Be aware that it can lock up your code for as much as a second if there's no pulses to measure.

If you do have real work to do, then either find a library such as FreqMeasure or write your own interrupt code. attachInterrupt() is pretty easy to use.

P may be the number of pole pairs, not the number of poles, so be aware of that.

volatile long pulses = 0 ;  // must be volatile if used in ISR

void int_func ()
{
  pulses ++ ;
}

void get_pulsecount ()  // safely read pulses when its not changing
{
  noInterrupts () ;
  long res = pulses ;  // don't zero the count, just sample it, less scope for bugs (easy debug)
  interrupts () ;
  return res ; 
}

void setup ()
{
  pinMode (2, INPUT_PULLUP) ; // just in case its open-collector
  attachInterrupt (0, int_func, RISING) ;  // interrupt channel 0 is pin 2 (for Uno etc)
}

unsigned long timestamp = 0L ;
long prev_pulses = 0L ;

void loop ()
{