Brushless Gimbal Motors

Hi,

I'm a student and for my graduation I'm trying to build a brushless gimbal with a couple of friends.
Our project includes writing the software needed for stabilization and constructing the frame.

My problem is I can't find any information on how to control the motors. I'm familiar with normal brushless motors used for multicopters (and thus with ESCs), but not with the ones typically used for gimbals (f.ex. T-Motors GB54-1). Initially I thought I could just buy some ESCs for them, but then I realized that there are none on the market and that the connectors on the motors are different than those I'm used to.
Most of the other "diy" projects I've seen so far seem to spare the software part and use AlexMos BGC instead.

So my question is: What is the best way to approache this problem? Do I have to build and program corresponding drivers myself (like this?). Are there any solutions available on the market?

Thanks in advance
Josua

Sensored or sensorless motor?

Given that the same company seems to supply RC ESCs for brushless motors, and that they also supply brushless motors, and they seem to have a focus on the multi-blade copter business - I would make the guess that a standard ESC for a BLDC motor (sized properly) will work...

The thing that I don't understand about these motors, though, is the seeming lack of gearing? I can't really make heads or tails of that manufacturer's site - is the term "Gimbal" being used to denote the series (ie - the "Antigravity" series certainly doesn't have anything to do with gravity - so is it likewise for the "Gimbal" series?). There isn't enough data on the motors to actually know what their application is for; it really seems like it is meant to spin a propeller, and not for any low-speed positioning (despite the photo with the product - remember, this is a chinese manufacturer, where anything seemingly goes with marketing).

I could be completely wrong...