BTS7960 and regenerative braking for hybrid powered bicycle

Hello all, I'm relatively new to arduino use, I've built a few small contraptions using the basic Uno and stepper, shield and A4988 driver, triggered by an IR proximity avoidance sensor for one, and another using an IR motion sensor and triggering a short audio recording on an ISD1820, both of those projects I just took monkey-see-monkey-do and did a minimum of program edits to make each work. My new project is a 'hybrid' gas/electric bicycle and I am searching for methods to control the electric motor, I don't remember the exact specifics of the motor off the top of my head, but it is a servo motor (approximately 150mm long and approximately 80mm diameter) rated for 24vdc, and I want to use the BTS7960 in the 'forward' drive mode as just a standard speed control, but when the potentiometer is moved to the fully decel position, I want the H bridge to activate my separate charge controller and bms circuit, allowing the motor to run as a generator. Where the 'hybrid' functionality comes into play, is that I will have a gasoline engine connected to the rear wheel completely separate from the electric drive, and will utilize a second throttle, which can then allow me to use the gas engine at the exact same time as the electric motor, for better acceleration when needed, or not at all, operating strictly electric, or using strictly gasoline power, which would also be charging the battery pack, using the electric motor in generator mode.
My questions are will the BTS7960 suffice for this application or is there a more suitable cost effective alternative? And what will I need to do from a hardware perspective to get the H bridge to divert power to the charge controller, as opposed to direct to the battery?
Any input on the project is welcome, AFAIK this is uncharted territory, so I'm open to suggestion if you see any part of this plan that needs work.
Thanks!