BTTF Delorean using Arduino ??

Hi Everyone,

I’m very new to Arduino, having been just introduced to it by a friend.

I would like to build an R/C model of the back to the future car, including the hover feature. To do this very simply, I thought of adding a switch or lever, etc. that would manually turn the wheels the required 90 degrees.

My question is, can this be done using an Arduino board ? And if so, could you please advise as to which one would be best, as I’m still a bit confused as to how the different models differ.

Also, if anyone has any suggestions or comments as to this project, they would be more than welcome.

Thanking you,
Aaron

Turning the wheels 90 degrees could probably done with servo(s), those can be driven by an arduino. Actually getting it of the ground will probably be close to impossible, Aerodynamics probably won't allow it.

The electronics probably aren't the most difficult part, with the right model RC-equipment you might not even need an arduino.

Being able to drive the car in normal mode and being able to turn the wheels 90 degrees will require a lot of mechanical ingenuity though.

Hi Simpson Jr,

Thank you for your reply. It is much appreciated.

As you suggested I will look at using servos for this project. When you said that they can be used together with an Arduino board, does it matter which board you use or doesn’t it matter ?

As for the “getting it off the ground” part, I am not too worried with it. My plan is to have fans running on the axles, just behind the wheels, so that when they turn 90 degrees, it should create enough force to lift it off the ground.

Although, you say that it can be done using R/C equipment instead ? Won’t that be more complicated to set up than using an Arduino ?

I will admit though that if I manage to get it airborne, the steering will be quite a bit harder to manage. I would like a better system than just put fans everywhere.

Thanks again,
Aaron

Hi Aaron,