BU2090 shift register

Hi all,

I'm just getting into shift registers and have his a knowledge wall where I can't seem to find how to interface a shift register without a latch pin to arduino.

All the arduino tutorials mention the use of the latch pin to change the outputs.

I have a BU2090 12 bit SIPO and I need to learn how to code it to work correctly.

I'm a bit perplexed how a chip without a latch pin will know where the 1st bit is in the 12 bit stream.

Am I thinking correctly?

Any help with knowledge or coding would be greatly appreciated. TIA

Damo76:
I'm a bit perplexed how a chip without a latch pin will know where the 1st bit is in the 12 bit stream.

Am I thinking correctly?

I think no. You can still write bits to the SIPO, it's just that the bits on the output cannot be changed all at the same time, because of the missing latch. They would appear to shift from output to output as you clock them in. If you clock them rapidly, that might not matter for some applications.

yes but if you do it rapidly how will the shift register know where the start and end bit is? what if one bit goes missing or is that highly unlikely?

The chip is not smart. Your sketch
has to keep track of timing and
shifting in the proper number of bits.
It is not likely that a bit will get
lost inside the chip.
Herb

Damo76:
yes but if you do it rapidly how will the shift register know where the start and end bit is? what if one bit goes missing or is that highly unlikely?

It can't know. But if you pause it, you have effectively defined the end. Latching the data won't help with missing bits at all. So you haven't lost any performance on that account.

Thanks heaps guys!

Damo76:
what if one bit goes missing or is that highly unlikely?

Just doesn't happen in digital electronics. If that happens, everything fails; your PC crashes, the toast burns, the refrigerator defrosts and the Roomba eats the cat etc. :grinning: