Bubble sort.

Hi all,

I'm wondering how would I be able to create a running median using the bubble sort algorithm without using any builtin libraries. I'm not sure how to do this as I'm new to Arduino and would appreciate any advice.

Use your favorite search engine, together with the search terms "arduino bubble sort" to discover many working examples.

running median using the bubble sort algorithm

Why are you using a sort in order to get an average?

Mark

Why are you using a sort in order to get an average?

Look up "median filter" to see why. Such a filter is very useful, and robust against large outliers in the raw data.

PS: The OP did not use the word "average".

Average is not the same as median. Median is the middle value, usually of an odd number of values. In general, the middle value is not known unless a sort is performed.

vaj4088:
Average is not the same as median.

Actually, the median is just one of three averages, where an average is just one of many measures of central tendency. What you meant to say was "Average is not the same as mean". Yes we loosely use the word "average" to be the "mean", but mode, median and mean are all averages.

See here for example:

There are three main types of average:

mean
mode
median

JJJ12:
Hi all,

I'm wondering how would I be able to create a running median using the bubble sort algorithm without using any builtin libraries. I'm not sure how to do this as I'm new to Arduino and would appreciate any advice.

.I don't believe any of the built-in libraries includes a bubble sort, so I think you're safe.

If you are performing a RUNNING median, you may not need a bubble sort at all. Presumably, your median has a fixed maximum size. A running calculation implies that your data arrives sequentially (samples?).

If you have reached the maximum size, delete the oldest value.
Insert the new value in its proper place.