BUG? - initialisation of integer with -1 fails! Please confirm

Hello!

I'm new to arduino programming, but I think I have found a bug. The following code is compiling and updating and there are no errors (I'm using Arduino Uno R3 and the Arduino IDE version 1.0.5):

int LED = 13;
int number = -1;

void setup(){
  //Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(LED,OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(LED,LOW);
}

void loop(){
  if(number == -1)
    digitalWrite(LED, HIGH);
}

I guess, I don't have to explain the code, it's pretty simple: If "number" is the initialized value of -1, then the LED should light up.
Nevertheless, the LED is not lighting up! But if I change from -1 to any other number, for example 2, then it works.

int number = 2;
if(number == 2)

-> LED lights up.

I wanted to figure out, what the variable "number" is in the "-1" case, and therefore wanted to communicate via RS232. It turns out, if I add Serial.begin(9600); to the setup-function, then the LED also lights up in the "-1" case.

What is going on here? Can someone please confirm the behaviour, so that we can report a bug, or did I miss anything?

Thanks, bumberle

Have you tried using a different name for the variable you are calling "number"?

...R

Hello Robin2,

thanks for your answer. I just tried "asdf" instead of "number", but it gives me the same results: works for "2", but not for "-1".

bumberle

Here's two more data points for you. If I initialize with 2, and then, in setup, write number = -1;, it works as expected.

Aslo, if I change the order of the two declarations to:

int number = -1;
int LED = 13;

it works as expected.

I'd call it a bug.

Your original code works for me on a Nano (and a Teensy 2).

Pete

That's really surprising, I can confirm that simply changing the order of the declarations "solves" the problem. I will write a posting in the "Suggestions for the Arduino Project"-section and report the bug. Thank you all for looking into this.