build it yourself arduino kit

Hi, I'm a VCE student in Australia and I'm doing a course in systems engineering where basically the major assessment for the entire year is the production of an integrated electronic and mechanical system. I'm totally new to all things arduino, and indeed electronics, but have been doing some research and definitely need a microcontroller of some type for my project. there is however one catch.... I have to 'build' the arduino myself. the thought of building one from complete scratch as i have seen on some instructables pages etc. kinda scares me to be totally honest! so i was wondering if anyone knew of somewhere/someway i could buy the components and a precut pcb so i could assemble it myself, in order to have the full functionality of something like the uno.

I'm open to suggestions of any kind, and would greatly appreciate the advice.

I presume "integrated electronic and mechanical system" means something that you plan to control with an Arduino?

If so there is no need to build an Arduino. All you need is the Atmega328 chip that is used in the Uno. See this tutorial.

If you can work with the chip running at 8MHz with its internal oscillator then it is extremely simple. It can do everything that a complete Arduino can do.

I would, of course, use an Uno for developing the system as it is so convenient to use with no need for soldering.

...R

Thank you so incredibly much.... That is PERFECT!!! And yes, the integrated system is a mechanical and electric system that will be controlled from the arduino.... Or rather the Atmega328. Thanks again, m

mightymarty: i was wondering if anyone knew of somewhere/someway i could buy the components and a precut pcb so i could assemble it myself, in order to have the full functionality of something like the uno.

Purchase an "Atmega-328 with Arduino bootloader" preloaded, then follow the steps shown here You can use an Atmega-328 although there is shown an Atmega-168, they are pin-compatible.