Building a 5x16 led matrix?

Hey guys, just warning you that I'm a noob in Arduino (Don't even have one of my own), but a great avatar pictures picker.

So... here's the deal:
I have this project on where I want to make a 5x16 (five leds in series per 16 parallel columns) led matrix. But, as I don't think I can get a 74HC595, I'm thinking if there's a way of increase the Arduino Operating Voltage? In this case I could arrange the leds in series and control them column by column using the Arduino. The big problem is, the Arduino only give us 5V, so the maximum number Leds I could put on series would be just 2, reducing so much what I was planning.

So, in resume, those are my troubles:
Can I increase the tension that Arduino can operate?
Would be harmful for the Arduino to arrange 16 parallels columns of Leds and put each one in a digital port?

Some data:
The leds are 10mm red (=~2v).
I only have Arduinos Uno's availables.
The voltage I'm going for is either 12v or 9v, that would be enough for the Matrix.
I'm a noob in eletronics as much as I am in Arduino, but I'm a good learner :smiley:
You can't be happy until you have aleatory 3 nipples
English is not my native language, please correct my mistakes.

five leds in series per 16 parallel columns

All 5 are to turn on together? Or you want them all individually addressable?

Yes, together.
Individually would be great, but I guess I would have to buy more stuff and eletronics are not that easy to get where I live (buying from the internet may slow my time)

So what do you have for current drivers and current sinks?
74HC595 is a crappy part without buffering. Can you get TPIC6B595?

I only have the Arduino, the Leds, some cables and resistors. That's all about what I can easy get here.
TPIC6B595 and similarities are quite hard to find, and I don't know where to search those in my city, so I think that I can't get any shift register but the ordinary ones (If I get lucky).